New Chair For Art Gallery Of WA Board

Share the love:

Culture and the Arts Minister John Day announced the Hon Nicholas Hasluck AM QC as the new Chair of the Art Gallery of Western Australia (AGWA) Board.

Mr Hasluck will succeed outgoing chair, Fiona Kalaf, from January 1, 2015. Ms Kalaf’s tenure concludes on December 31 this year, after 11 years as an AGWA board member.

The Minister thanked Ms Kalaf for her commitment to the Art Gallery, especially for her guidance as the chair for the last four years.

“Fiona has been an invaluable member of the Art Gallery board and will leave a lasting legacy in her contribution to the success of this highly respected institution,” Mr Day said.

“I have greatly appreciated Fiona’s leadership and advice and am pleased she will be continuing as a much-valued member of the Metropolitan Redevelopment Authority board.

“As part of a succession plan to ensure a seamless transition, once Ms Kalaf’s term expires, Mr Hasluck will assume the role as Vice Chair before moving to the position of Chair in January.

“As a retired Supreme Court judge and a well-known author, Mr Hasluck is well placed to bring his experience and personal interest in the arts to the State’s flagship art gallery.”

The Minister also confirmed board members Helen Carroll Fairhall and Brian Roche had been re-appointed until 2016.

“I am pleased that with these appointments, the AGWA board will continue to have strong leadership and be represented by a dedicated group of people who bring a balance of expertise across the areas of visual arts, finance and business management,” he said.

Fact File

  • Mr Nicholas Hasluck has chaired the Literature Board of the Australia Council
  • AGWA board has eight members
  • More information about AGWA at

Share the love:

Join the discussion